Allstate and Krispy Kreme win top honors at Corporate Governance Awards

Jan 09, 2013
<div><em>Corporate Secretary&nbsp;</em>celebrates winners of its Fifth Annual Corporate Governance awards in New York&nbsp;</div>
Corporate Secretary, the leading governance and compliance publication, announced the winners of its Fifth Annual Corporate Governance Awards at a black-tie awards dinner at New York City’s Gotham Hall on January 8. The event recognizes leading companies and professionals in the corporate governance, compliance and legal community for demonstrating innovation and best practices in the field of governance. 

Winners of the Fifth Annual Corporate Governance Awards 

Corporate governance team of the year (large cap): Allstate

Corporate governance team of the year (small to mid-cap): Krispy Kreme

Governance professional of the year (large cap): Peggy Foran – Prudential Financial

Governance professional of the year (small to mid-cap): Damien Atkins – AOL 

Best overall governance, compliance & ethics (large cap): American Express

Best overall governance, compliance & ethics (small to mid-cap): AECOM

Best overall corporate governance – international: Manulife

Best use of technology by a corporate secretary or general counsel: Parker Hannifin

Most innovative CSR disclosure policy: Clorox

Best overall legal team for governance: Trimas

Best proxy statement: The Hartford Financial Services Group

Rising Star: Megan Pavich – Allstate

Lifetime Achievement: Nell Minow -- GMI Ratings

Matthew Scott, editor of Corporate Secretary, congratulated the winners: ‘Our 2012 awards ceremony was postponed until January 2013 due to Hurricane Sandy, so it is wonderful to finally give these outstanding individuals and companies the recognition they deserve. Our award winner’s hard work has provided shining examples of corporate governance, compliance and ethics management, which can help companies eliminate fraud and become more efficient and profitable while complying with tougher regulations.’

The Fifth Annual Corporate Governance Awards were sponsored by American Stock Transfer & Trust Company, Broadridge, Computershare/Georgeson, EMC Corporation, General Electric, Gibson Dunn, Laurel Hill Advisory Group, MacKenzie Partners, NASDAQ OMX, Okapi Partners, NACD and the Society of Corporate Secretaries and Governance Professionals.

Sign up to get stories direct to your inbox
Stay informed on the latest trends and developments in the fast-moving world of corporate governance by signing up for our popular newsletters. Our weekly and monthly updates will provide you with expert analysis, timely updates and comprehensive coverage of regulatory updates, governance trends and best practices, careers and much more.
Cs logo Cs logo