GE, AMN Healthcare big winners at 2015 Corporate Governance Awards

Nov 05, 2015
<p>Governance and compliance teams from GE, AMN Healthcare, Lockheed Martin, &nbsp;Microsoft, PepsiCo, and others take top honors at <em>Corporate Secretary</em>&rsquo;s eighth annual awards</p>

New York, November 5, 2015 – Please join Corporate Secretary in celebrating the winners of the Corporate Governance Awards 2015, the prestigious and highly coveted awards recognizing the people behind excellence in governance, whether collectively or as individuals, across North America.

This year’s winners include well-known names such as General Electric, Microsoft and PepsiCo, as well as first-time nominees such as Splunk and AMN Healthcare, to cite just a few. The full list of award categories and winners is provided below. To view the full list of nominees and the process by which they were chosen, please click here.

Corporate Secretary’s Corporate Governance Awards pay tribute to the best efforts of individuals, teams and companies in the world of governance, compliance and risk management. This year, nearly 100 nominations were received for the 14 award categories. Corporate Secretary’s editorial leaders narrowed these down to short lists for each category, which were then reviewed by a panel of judges including two former leaders of the Society of Corporate Secretaries and Governance Professionals. To view this year’s judges, please click here.

Corporate Governance Awards 2015 winners:

Best CSR disclosure policy

CVS Health

Best shareholder engagement

Microsoft Corp

Best use of technology by a corporate secretary or GC

Marsh & McLennan

Best proxy statement (small to mid-cap)


Best proxy statement (large cap)

Allstate Corp

Rising star

Alvin Huntspon, McKesson Corp

Governance professional of the year (small to mid-cap)

Jean Weng, Voya Financial

Governance professional of the year (large cap)

Cynthia Nastanski, PepsiCo

Corporate governance team of the year (small to mid-cap)

AMN Healthcare

Corporate governance team of the year (large cap)

General Electric

Best compliance & ethics program (small to mid-cap)

AMN Healthcare

Best compliance & ethics program (large cap)

Lockheed Martin

Best overall corporate governance – international

Westpac Banking Corp

Best overall governance by a private company


Lifetime achievement

Peggy Foran – chief governance officer & secretary, Prudential Financial

Award sponsors

AST, Argyle, Broadridge, Center for Audit Quality, Chesapeake Utilities Corp, Computershare Georgeson, Diligent Board Member Services, EMC, GE, Gibson Dunn,  Graybar, iiWisdom, Innisfree, Ipreo, Labrador, Marsh & McLennan Companies, McGraw-Hill Financial, Monsanto, Morrow & Company, National Association of Corporate Directors, Okapi Partners, PepsiCo, RR Donnelley, Wells Fargo Shareholder Services

Sign up to get stories direct to your inbox
Stay informed on the latest trends and developments in the fast-moving world of corporate governance by signing up for our popular newsletters. Our weekly and monthly updates will provide you with expert analysis, timely updates and comprehensive coverage of regulatory updates, governance trends and best practices, careers and much more.
Cs logo Cs logo